PDA

View Full Version : What is this in my engine bay? (ABS Modulator)

GT
11-04-2006, 10:51 AM
I've got something in my Vi engine bay that I dont have in my ZR one... I'm probably going to sound like a daft novice here, but I used to think it was related to the a/c, but my Vi has no a/c button!

I dont think its related to the VVC mechanism, because I swear I've also seen it in a ZR105 (mk2).

It cant be ABS, because my ZR has ABS, but doesn't have this module?

I dont have a picture of my engine bay to show it properly, the closest I can find is on the ZR-X engine bay shot as below, circled in green on the right hand side (sorry its not very clear!).

Can anyone set the record straight?

620Turbo
11-04-2006, 11:25 AM
Rob,

That is the ABS modulator. You can see the back end of the motor sticking out of it. Perhaps it was in a different place on the other car, but I doubt it as it has been here on all tomcats, 200's, 25's and ZR's I have seen with ABS.

Are you sure the other car has ABS? Does it do a bulb check when you put the ignition on and are there reluctor rings round the drive shart UJ's?

GT
11-04-2006, 11:36 AM
Its a 2004 53 reg ZR+... I thought ABS was standard :confused:

I've not had to test the theory yet, though!

I'll check later as you suggest, thanks for the help!

Oh how silly I feel, if this is the case ( and how stupid do I look :o )

620Turbo
11-04-2006, 11:54 AM
Its a 2004 53 reg ZR+... I thought ABS was standard :confused:

I've not had to test the theory yet, though!

I'll check later as you suggest, thanks for the help!

Oh how silly I feel, if this is the case ( and how stupid do I look :o )

When you turn the ignition on, you should get a bulb check.

ZS
11-04-2006, 12:12 PM
When you turn the ignition on, you should get a bulb check.

Should you? I don't remember seeing one on the ZS... which definetly has ABS!

620Turbo
11-04-2006, 12:18 PM
Should you? I don't remember seeing one on the ZS... which definetly has ABS!